Nominations invited for two exceptional Awards

21 January 2020

There’s only ten days left to submit nominations for two of the National Eisteddfod’s honorary awards this year

The Science and Technology Medal and Sir TH Parry-Williams Memorial Medal will be awarded during the festival week in August. Nominations must be submitted by 31 January.

The National Eisteddfod Science and Technology Medal exists to honour those individuals who have made their mark in the world of science and technology through the medium of Welsh.  Recent winners include Twm Elias, Hefin Jones and Deri Tomos.

The Sir TH Parry-Williams Memorial Medal is presented for outstanding work promoting the language and culture in the community, making a difference to the lives of young people and those who live in the area. Nominations are invited from groups or individuals and the successful candidate will be awarded in a ceremony on the main stage at the Eisteddfod.

Sir TH Parry-Williams was a great supporter of the National Eisteddfod, and in August 1975, following his death a few months earlier, a trust was set up to celebrate his invaluable contribution to Eisteddfod activities. The fund is administered by the Sir Thomas Parry-Williams Trust.  Recent winners include Falyri Jenkins, Meinir Lloyd and Mair Carrington Roberts.

Nomination form for both awards can be found on the Eisteddfod website; ( and  and the whole process can be completed online.  You can also contact the office on 0845 4090 300.

The closing date to receive each nomination form is 31 January, and the medals will be awarded during the Ceredigion National Eisteddfod. The winners will be announced in April.

The Ceredigion National Eisteddfod is held at Tregaron from 1-8 August.  For more information go online.