2018 Welsh Learner of the Year

Steve Dimmick from Cardiff, Yankier Pijeira Perez from Llanrug, Nicky Roberts from Aberystwyth and Matt Spry from Cardiff were successful entrants at the 2018 Welsh Learner of the Year semi final round.

Steve Dimmick


Yankier Pijeira Perez


Nicky Roberts


Matt Spry


The four will compete for the Welsh Learner of the Year award during Eisteddfod week this year.

The winner receives a trophy, donated by School of Welsh, Cardiff University and £300 from Peter and Gill Griffiths, Pentyrch, Cardiff, and the other four finalists will receive trophies donated by School of Welsh, Cardiff University. 

Finalists will also receive a year’s subscription to the magazine, Golwg, and gifts from Merched y Wawr. The winner is invited to become a member of the Gorsedd.

This year's adjudicators are Lowri Bunford Jones, Carole Bradley and Lowri Haf Cooke. 

Sponsored by Blake Morgan.