Nominations invited for two exceptional awards

16 January 2018

There’s only two weeks to go to submit nominations for two of the National Eisteddfod’s honourary awards this year. 

The Science and Technology Medal and Sir TH Parry-Williams Memorial Medal will be awarded during the festival week in August. Nominations must be submitted by 31 January.

The National Eisteddfod Science and Technology Medal exists to honour those individuals who have made their mark in the world of science and technology through the medium of Welsh.

Former winners include Professor Gareth F Roberts, Eirwen Gwynn and Glyn O Phillips. The 2017 Medal was awarded to Professor Deri Tomos.

The Sir TH Parry-Williams Memorial Medal awards individuals in Welsh communities who have made a difference to the lives of young people and those who live in the area. Nominations are invited from groups or individuals and the successful candidate will be awarded in a ceremony on the main stage at the Eisteddfod.

Sir TH Parry-Williams was a great supporter of the National Eisteddfod, and in August 1975, following his death a few months earlier, a trust was set up to celebrate his invaluable contribution to Eisteddfod activities. The fund is administered by the Sir Thomas Parry-Williams Trust.  Last year’s winner was Dan Puw.

Nomination form for both awards can be found on the Eisteddfod website;  ( a  and the whole process can be completed online, or by contacting the office on 0845 4090 300.  Nomination forms can also be downloaded from the Eisteddfod website.

The closing date to receive each nomination form is 31 January, and the medals will be awarded during the Cardiff National Eisteddfod. The winners will be announced in April.

The Cardiff National Eisteddfod is held in Cardiff Bay from 3-11 August.  For more information go online.