Conwy County Eisteddfod Honorary Presidents

22 June 2018

The Eisteddfod is delighted to announce the names of those who have been invited to serve as Honorary Presidents at the Conwy County National Eisteddfod next year.

The seven are well known to people across the region and further afield, and have been invited because of their contribution to the cultural life of the area and to the Welsh language locally:

Myrddin ap Dafydd: Editor, owner of Gwasg Carreg Gwalch and chaired poet.  A community stalwart who has published a number of plays, books on folklore and many children’s books.  He has also written words for some of our most famous songs.

Ieuan Edwards: A successful businessman whose products under the Edwards of Conwy banner have become one of the leading meat brands in Wales and further afiled.  An innovative and forward thinking businessman who has remained true to his roots and the traditions of the Conwy Valley.

Dafydd and Catherine Lloyd Jones: Two people who have played a leading role in the music world in the Conwy County area for many years.  They have both contributed greatly to the Eisteddfod and to local culture throughout their lives.

Maureen Hughes: A former music teacher and primary headteacher at Maenan and Rowen, she coached Côr Merched Carmel, and is a well-respected and sought after musical adjudicator.

Catherine Watkin: She has contributed greatly to coaching young people locally over the years.  She is a leading cerdd dant and folk song arranger, and has conducted the male choir, Hogie’r Berfeddwlad, for almost twenty years,

Cefyn Burgess: A former Lle Celf selector, Cefyn Burgess is known for his woven textile work and quality interior products, including blankets, quilts, throws and cushions, which reinterpret the traditional in a modern and contemporary way.

Elfed Roberts, Eisteddfod Chief Executive, said, “It’s important to recognise the contribution of key individuals to culture and the language locally.  These are people who work tirelessly all the time, whether an Eisteddfod is being held or not.  They help to support, sustain and develop culture in the area.

“I am delighted that there are names from the business community on the list this year who are not only committed to the language and our culture but also to the economic future of the county.

“It gives us great pleasure to announce the names of next year’s Honorary Presidents, and a chance to thank them for their commitment, their work, their support and their enthusiasm over the years.  We look forward to working together over the next year as the Eisteddfod approaches.”

The Conwy County National Eisteddfod is held on the outskirts of Llanrwst from 2-10 August next year.  For more information go online,