Anglesey National Eisteddfod Honorary Presidents Announced

11 May 2016

The Eisteddfod is delighted to announce the names of those who have been invited to serve as Honorary Presidents at the Anglesey National Eisteddfod next year.

The six are well known to people across the island and further afield, and have been invited because of their contribution to the cultural life of the area and to the Welsh language locally:

Dewi Jones: chair of the Eisteddfod Executive Committee, 1999, poet and a great promoter of culture in his local area

Edward Morus Jones: singer, entertainer, and the current President of the Anglesey Eisteddfod Court

Gladys Pritchard: another stalwart of the Anglesey Eisteddfod, and a pillar of the Welsh language community in Holyhead

Ellis Wyn Roberts: winner of the Sir T H Parry-Williams Memorial Medal, a reciter and recitation teacher

Nia Thomas: a radio broadcaster with BBC Cymru, but well known on the island for her work with young people

Islwyn Williams: an authority on folk dancing, and one of the great pioneers of Mudiad Meithrin on Anglesey.

Elfed Roberts, Eisteddfod Chief Executive, said, “It’s important to recognise the contribution of key individuals to culture and the language locally.  These are people who work tirelessly all the time, whether an Eisteddfod is being held or not.  They help to support, sustain and develop culture on Anglesey.

“It gives us great pleasure to announce the names of next year’s Honorary Presidents, and a chance to thank them for their commitment, their work and their enthusiasm over the years.  We look forward to working together over the next year as the Eisteddfod approaches.”

The Anglesey National Eisteddfod is held near Bodedern from 4-12 August 2017.  For more information go online,